ALERT: California Mandates up to 80 Hours of COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave

In a previous Fresh Blog Post, we included AB 84 on our legislative watch list. That bill, which requires California employers with 26 or more employees to provide up to 80 hours of paid sick leave for COVID-19 related leaves of absences, became law when Governor Newsom signed it on February 9, 2022. Employees with 25 or fewer employees are exempt from AB 84, but are still required to provide their workers 3 days or 24 hours of COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave. If you would like a copy of our comprehensive (and complimentary) AB 84 FAQ sheet, please fill out the Contact Us form on this page.